top of page

A Court of Frost and Starlight by Sarah J. Maas - Review

Updated: Jan 16, 2019

A Novella of the A Court of Thorns and Roses - Series by Sarah J. Maas which follows the main series of three installments and makes the bridge to the new series. Moreover it sacks our wallets, leaves readers rather unsatisfied and makes them wonder "What the heck was that?!".


We had both fought for that love, bled for it. Rhys had died for it.


Title: A Court of Frost and Starlight

Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses (#3.1)

Genre: YA/ NA Fantasy

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publish Date: 1st May 2018

Pages: 229

Personal Rating: 2/10


Before I start this review I really have to express how unbelievably astonished I am that I came to like and - god forbid - love this series though I bought this novella as the freaking first book of them all! How for this sacred planet's sake did that happen? I guess I can be thankful that my brain worked properly - it clearly didn't earlier when I bought this novella - and I started reading this series chronologically.


Let's just say, man, this was a total waste of 17 bucks. I couldn't even bring myself to read it properly till the end.


Feyre, Rhys, and their close-knit circle of friends are still busy rebuilding the Night Court and the vastly-changed world beyond. But Winter Solstice is finally near, and with it, a hard-earned reprieve.

Yet even the festive atmosphere can't keep the shadows of the past from looming. As Feyre navigates her first Winter Solstice as High Lady, she finds that those dearest to her have more wounds than she anticipated--scars that will have far-reaching impact on the future of their Court.


Before I get into any further details about the book, here are my three reasons why you should spare yourself and not read or buy this one.

  1. The plot is just non-existent. Can't find it.

  2. Change of POVs and everyone sounds exactly the same.

  3. Major smut issues.

And yes, it truly was that bad.


We're back in Velaris and it's a pain in the ass. The book is situated after the war and is allegedly about the post-war-trauma of our beloved characters when there is in fact only presents shopping and sex thoughts in the air. 229 pages filled with utter non-sense, eye-rolling non-action and boring shopping, landscape descriptions and thoughts of fucking Feyre that I deigned a rather long trip to the bathroom. It's simply boring and I couldn't care less. Rhys could have pooped in the public I simply wouldn't care! There was nothing of any importance, that was approximately interesting nor did I ever get the feeling of having fun reading nor giving a flying fig about the plot. I mean, of course, it wasn't there so there isn't much to worry about but... 229 filled with a whole lot of nothing? I really can't see the point of that book ever seeing the daylight. That's an imposition! *cough* Might have been the reason why I didn't finish reading it. *cough*


And to make this disaster seem at least appealing Sarah J. Maas adds various changes of POV but it still ain't any better! News flash, it won't become more interesting or less bad by just adding POVs that contribute nothing to the non-plot and sound exactly alike. Gladly, SJM wrote from whose POV we read this non-sense since they all seemed to sound exactly like Feyre. Gladly Rhys helped us clearing up with some statements about banging Feyre. So thanks for that.


Which leads me right to the next point: the smut. It's cringy. Full stop. I'd prefer not to write about it above the divider. It's just uncalled for and in case the author thought it would be steamy and lusty making us all drool and shit... it is not, alright. - Just drop it.


When I read this book I'd just finished A Court of Wings and Ruin hence I was blown away. I couldn't wait to read more about the characters I'd grown so fond of and wasn't yet ready to let the series go, thought many readers who loved the ACOTAR-series. And then the first pages of this novella happened. Every appreciation and thrill I had for the series just pulverized after the first ten pages - and that's not a good thing. It wasn't catchy, neither witty, funny nor anything else but boring and pointless. There was nothing more satisfying than skipping ever second page and reaching the end real quick. And now I want my money back though the cover is pretty nice.


To everyone who's looking for one last chance of hot Rhys (who turns to a dick with a dick as a brain), witty Lucien and Cassian or anything else - you won't find it in this novella. Just do yourself a favour and skip it - even if you are a fan of this series and a hard-core Feysand-shipper. (Or if you finally want to read about that wall...)


And from here on - Bye unspoilt wannabe people though there isn't much to spoil about.


 

A Court of Frost and Starlight aka A Court of Shopaholic and Smut


Since there isn't much to talk about due to the non-existent plot and I'm not willing to write about the chapter that doesn't belong to the main "story" of this "book" (which is the so-called bridge to a Cassian-Nesta based series), we have to make do with this:


The worst quotes of ACOFAS:


I snorted, flicking my braid over a shoulder. Perhaps my Solstice gift to myself would be to hire a personal secretary. Someone to read and answer those things, to sort out what was vital and what could be put aside.

Ok, so SJM is really trying to put me straight on believing that the Night Court, which has existed for god knows how long, hasn't had a secretary before Feyre's petty ass showed up on the threshold? Ridiculous. And tell me, what exactly has Rhys been doing for over five hundred years? You better be kidding me.


Daggers and blades, quivers and bows. I scratched my head at the heavy, wicked-looking mace that Rhys had somehow dumped beside the desk without my noticing.

Now I'm just laughing and not in a good way. This is the sort of bad comedy that makes you cringe, frown and close the book the instance. Seriously, a mace? I beg your pardon, but I doubt that Rhys - remember, over five hundred years old and the Night Court didn't pop up just yesterday - has no place to store those weapons except his fucking bedroom? *head-shaking* Get creative.


I snorted. "So the three of them are just in there. Naked. Sweating."

What else are you supposed to do in a sauna, dumbass?


I was promised a wall, Rhys.A pause. A long pause. I've taken you against a wall before.

To hell with that wall and those long fucking pauses! At this point I just don't know any longer whether I should scream, cry or laugh.


He purred, Look at how I fuck you, Feyre.

Oh, gimme a break. Shut your dirty and depraved mouth, Rhys, would ya?


And I'd never been so glad for a Fae mate when he hardened again a heartbeat later (...), then plunge deep into me with a growling purr.

First of all, how exactly does a growling purr sound? I really tried to do it but failed. Secondly, one more purrrrr and I might start slapping myself to unconsciousness. Thirdly, Feyre, you're kidding me? Justforthedick? Seriously? The main reason you're with Rhys is because he has a hard-on whenever you call for it? Geez...


The sex had destroyed me. Utterly ruined me.

HahahahahahahaThat's the price you pay, Rhysand, for a chick that is addicted to your hard dick. Hahahahaha!


Boxes and bags, all brightly wrapped and adorned, filled the bay windows. Piles and mountains and towers of them.

Geee, please, save us all. Piles, and mountains and towers of presents. I'm genuinely scared though I am not surprised after that excessive shopping they did 200 pages long. In the end they must have bought something.


I stuck out my tongue at him. A heartbeat later, he said in my mind, Save that tongue for later. I have ideas for it.

I've grown so tired of this smut. When they're not shopping there is only Feysand smut and I can't stand it any longer. I can't cope with it. Yeah, yeah, Rhys, you'll fuck her in her mind as well, no doubt. Be done with it so we can live our lives with our brains intact.


To the readers who look up at the stars and wish

Yeah, guess, what, I do. Memory loss to forget about this book, 17 bucks, therapy, that this novella had never been published in the first place, a novella that transforms Rhys back into a person and not a walking dick ( hard of course) and, last but not least, I'd like to walk straight out of my window and forget about this one.


One thing I have to give SJM credit for: She surely knows how to write such stupid things.


What is your opinion on ACOFAS?


Read my 1-star review of A Court of Frost and Starlight by Sarah J. Maas on Goodreads and follow me there to check out the books I've read and are on my to-do list.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page