top of page

Kingsbane by Claire Legrand - Book Review

The anticipated sequel to the instant NYT best-selling Furyborn is full of sweeping action, sumptuous characters and a compassionately well-elaborated plot – it makes hearts burst. Claire Legrand outstrips her first book with more lush world-building, diversified POVs and the alluring dangers of power and love.


Now that I’ve known a life with you by my side, I’m not sure I could bear that kind of loneliness again.”

- Claire Legrand, Kingsbane, p. 207



(picture coming soon)



Title: Kingsbane

Series: Empirium (#2)

Genre: YA Fantasy

Author: Claire Legrand

Publish Date: 21st May 2019

Pages: 608

Personal Rating: 9/10



“Everything shits.”

- Claire Legrand, Kingsbane, p. 338


What gives?


I’m currently sitting with my knees tucked close, stirring songs blaring from my earphones into my deaf ears, and rocking back and forth in a corner. – And that in that common lightless space called “Where we go after we finished a freaking awesome book” or better known as “bottomless abyss of waiting till the sequel is released”.


Frankly, I don’t really know what to do with my life now that I’ve finished Kingsbane and was left in satisfying awe on the edge of a cliffhanger.


He gulped down the rest of his drink, examined the empty crystal goblet, and then hurled it against the far wall, hoping the sound of it shattering apart would satisfy him, bring him some momentary relief from his raging dark thoughts. It did not.

- Claire Legrand, Kingsbane, p. 156



Summary

In this sequel to the instant New York Times bestseller Furyborn, two queens, separated by a thousand years, connected by secrets and lies, must continue their fight amid deadly plots and unthinkable betrayals that will test their strength—and their hearts.

Rielle Dardenne has been anointed Sun Queen, but her trials are far from over. The Gate keeping the angels at bay is falling. To repair it, Rielle must collect the seven hidden castings of the saints. Meanwhile, to help her prince and love Audric protect Celdaria, Rielle must spy on the angel Corien—but his promises of freedom and power may prove too tempting to resist.

Centuries later, Eliana Ferracora grapples with her new reality: She is the Sun Queen, humanity's long-awaited savior. But fear of corruption—fear of becoming another Rielle—keeps Eliana's power dangerous and unpredictable. Hunted by all, racing against time to save her dying friend Navi, Eliana must decide how to wear a crown she never wanted—by embracing her mother's power, or rejecting it forever.



3 Reasons Why

If anyone isn’t sure if they should read Kingsbane or the Empirium Trilogy in general – here are my three reasons why you should definitely spend your money on these books because they’re true treasures holding so much more than just words.


  1. Different POV’s (who follows me on tumblr knows how I freaked out about the two chapters from my baby’s (aka drama queen Corien) POV)

  2. Sweeping plot and characters that make you compassionate (too compassionate for my feeble, instable person)

  3. Lavish romance


I wish I weren’t wearing these rags, she admitted, fumbling to fasten her cloak. They aren’t fit to be seen by you. His pleasure arched against her like a contented cat. You want to look beautiful for me.

- Claire Legrand, Kingsbane, p. 254



Content

*plugging earphones into my phone, starting my Kingsbane song playlist on Spotify*

Me: I am ready as ready as I can get


Earlier this year I read Furyborn, the first instalment of the fantasy series by Claire Legrand, and it knocked me off my bed. Four months later I’m holding Kingsbane in my hands, closed shut and all post-its set among the pages, and I can’t stop marveling at what I’ve read. – If you thought Furyborn was a great, lavish and epic fantasy book (fair enough), then grab whatever support you can get and get ready for Kingsbane because it shatters hearts, makes your fantasy thrive and takes you deep into the world of the Empirium.


Compared to how the prequel ended, the starting chapters of Kingsbane were disappointingly flat and, by a majority, not seizing. Luckily, that changes after the bleak opening.


She was alone. But not for long.

- Claire Legrand, Kingsbane, p. 573


Legrand keeps up the structure of the steadily changing POV of Eliana and Rielle, but in this book we get more insights into the minds of other characters. Chapters told from the perspective of Ludivine, Corien, Simon and others contribute a great deal to the diversity and character development. The author gives her characters new life spirit, making them more sumptuous, consistent and gripping, and in my opinion they really spark to life in the second instalment of the Empirium Trilogy. Moreover Furyborn lacked a clear distinction between Eliana’s and Rielle’s POV, however, Kingsbane corrects that and outlines them perfectly, making the readers see how these two women are not alike.


“I am not like her,” she said through gritted teeth. “I am like no one but myself.”

- Claire Legrand, Kingsbane, p. 126


Taken as a whole, Kingsbane is a terrifyingly succeeded book, rich in characters and their motives, unrelenting in sweeping aside inhibitions when it comes to plot twists, brutality and character development and thus giving this book such a force that overwhelms us with a genuineness like no other book I’ve read before. Kingsbane wins my heart over with its lush world, moving mental struggles and fears the characters have, and a prose that captivates.



Honest Words

Furyborn was great. Kingsbane was greater. More badass magic, more slaughtering (don’t you dare shooting me that “you’re horrible and morally misguided” look), more romance, more POV’s, and a plot that is so much more intriguing than the trials throughout the first instalment.


Kingsbane held everything that I love in a book. It’s gripping, intriguing, alluring, exhilarating, makes me compassionate and has all the elements I look for in a good fantasy book. I cherished the deep insight we got into the minds of the characters, and how fears, flaws and mental issues move them all differently. That’s what people like me need in a book.


I see you, Rielle. I see you. And I am not afraid. You will never have to pretend with me. Not ever.

- Claire Legrand, Kingsbane, p. 258


Now, Claire Legrand, make me cry in the next book, throw in some more sassy and cackling dialogues, some more Corien POV’s (because I enjoyed them so much that it’s uncanny) and I’m going to build an altar for that beautiful mind of yours which could develop such an unfathomable story (in a positive way). Thank you for sharing this.



Among the Pages (Spoiler Alert)

If you haven’t read the book, don’t read this. Just don’t. Just skip till you see the playlist and you’re good to go.


The Book Cover

I don’t have to state the obvious and tell you have utterly beautiful the cover is, but has anyone analyzed the cover? Major spoilers are in there that’s all I’m saying.


Two crowns – one of light, one of fire or – more probable – blood. And one of them is shattering, signalizing Rielle’s break from being the Sun Queen and instead changing over to the opposite camp, namely, Corien. Whereas that is symbolized by the two-winged scepter in black – obviously, duh. Hello, the Emperor?


Moreover we’ve got Eliana’s casting she wears in her palms that are in the middle of the cover.


And has anyone noticed the many golden lines? If you asked me I’d tell you, “Those are Simon’s threads because he’s a marque, bruh” – referring to the time travel.


That’s it. I’ve smartass-ed enough.


Ah, but you forget, I am no mere human.

- Claire Legrand, Kingsbane, p. 334


Harkan Is Back

I have long erased the memory of him from my mind.

I have long forgotten that he was still an option.

I have not known that he was actually such a great survival expert.

I have figured that I kind of feel pity for him.


“Fuck you, Harkan. I’ll do just as I please.”

- Claire Legrand, Kingsbane, p. 244


And here I thought he was dead. – Harkan freaking “I’m Eliana’s love” is back from fucking nowhere and crawled to the castle at the end of the world from the other end of the world – and that with an alive status while the army of the Emperor is waiting on the doorstep of the castle. Wait… hahahah how?


No one knows and no one will ever know because well… how should I put it… he very likely died in the end. So don’t bother seeing him as competition or opponent to Simon because it doesn’t matter. And, frankly, I really resent his death. It was brutal. It was emotional and I almost cried.


Does she still love me? Harkan could no longer speak. His thoughts were a whisper, fading. But he needed to know. He needed, he needed.

- Claire Legrand, Kingsbane, p. 570


Corien Is the Drama Queen – Change My Mind

No stalling, no procrastinating – just the naked, blatant truth: I root for Corien. That’s it. Basta. Deal with it.


Corien’s gleeful voice arrived. My God, this is entertaining.

- Claire Legrand, Kingsbane, p. 85


Consequently, it is no wonder that a girl – aka sorry-ass me – suddenly started to scream and laugh in a terrifying way when she reached chapter thirteen. A Corien chaper ahhhhhhhhhhh! And while one chapter from Corien’s POV is fantastic because it just simply is, guess what’s better than that?

*dingdingding* A second one, bitch!


Each member of the main book characters except Eliana and Rielle got a chapter narrated from their perspective, and I couldn’t have relished more that there were not one but two chapters from Corien’s. – Frankly, I lost it and fell head over heels in love with him. So, be my guest, try arguing with me or talking sense into me – I don’t have any regrets and therefore there ain’t nothing stopping me crushing on Kalmaroth. I am in love with Corien’s POV.


And while I was in a fangirl frenzy – and re-read chapter 13 and 48 (Corien’s chapters) – I couldn’t bring myself from not finding that great villain adorable. Let yourself be warned: I cherish nothing but a great, intriguing and cunning villain.


He stood up, only a bit woozy, even after seven glasses of wine. To amuse himself, he exaggerated the unbalanced sway of his body, as if he were ready to topple over. “I’m drunk,” he announced to the empty room, which was a lie.

- Claire Legrand, Kingsbane, p. 156


He’s entertaining, a drunken fool, simpering, sort of childish, an infinite drama queen who is a sucker for drama and who attracts drama as well. Anger issues are present, equally, black fine clothes, and he’s a bitchy bastard – and I LOVE it. Also, huh-erm, he’s got black hair, elegant cheekbones, long lashes and eyes to kill for. C’mon who wouldn’t fall for him?


Rielle marched over, her vision suddenly sharp and gold-tinged, and slapped him. Corien bore it silently, then looked up at her, his cheek reddened, unafraid and unabashed. “I’ve missed you.”

- Claire Legrand, Kingsbane, p. 79


Simon’s Betrayal

I think we can all agree that no one – absolutely no one – saw that coming. Yes, yes, shut up, I know there were like tiny hints like the “black gaze” or “empty eyes” whatever – but those only appeared shortly before Simon started chatting with angels and shooting wildly at everyone who was around – basically slaughtering them all.


Simon hurried after her. “The disdain you hold for me, while entirely charming, is neither shocking nor productive.”

- Claire Legrand, Kingsbane, p. 45


After pages and pages of “OMG, Simon, I adore you, ahhhhh, OMG, I love you” all I could think of in the last chapters of the book was “Ok…erm…well…” and “WTF, Simon, WTF”.


I mean, I so desperately craved the otp Eliana x Simon to become canon and, what gives, it becomes canon after a fantastic slow-burn and an extremely long smut scene I wasn’t prepared for (that, to be said, is real competition for Sarah J. Maas) – but, hey, we got our otp – for, give or take, 20 chapers. Wonderful, isn’t it?


At one point of the book I even prayed to Claire Legrand to not kill Simon. And where did that lead me? Simon turning out to be a freaking bastard who allegedly betrays them all. Yeah, guess what, I’m frustrated. Things like that happen on this world.


“Once I’ve recovered, I’ll find a way to break it open. She’ll be freed, and then you can stop scowling.” Eliana paused. “Oh. Wait. That’s impossible for you, isn’t it?”

- Claire Legrand, Kingsbane, p. 203


Maybe it’s just me and my candid love for Simon that really bloomed throughout Kingsbane (and was so beautifully busted at the end of the book – thanks for that btw), but I’m still clinging to the explanation “he actually didn’t want to do it – he was forced by an angel or there is another very plausible and sensible reason for that betrayal (maybe something changed after the time travel) which is in fact no betrayal – so calm your tits”.


Plainly spoken, I don’t know what to tell you. Simon wouldn’t speak so we’re left helpless and without explanation, and thus all we can do is to sit on our asses and rock in the corner waiting for the third and last instalment of the Empirium series.


Just don’t overreact and start lashing out with theories, please. My Simon would never do that. Ok? Shut up.


“Right hand of Prophet or no, if you say anything like that to my daughter again, I will have my guards toss you out of this tower.” “I’ll help,” Navi offered dryly.

- Claire Legrand, Kingsbane, p. 231


Book Three of the Empirium Trilogy

Endgame for the Empirium Trilogy. Paths have been chosen, fates have been sealed. So what is there to expect concerning the third and last instalment of Claire Legrand’s fantasy series?


As far as I can see, Rielle has joined Corien in her shredded wedding dress and her story will certainly proceed the way it’s supposed to, namely, being the Blood Queen, resurrecting angels and helping Corien achieve his evil plan to take revenge on the human race.


I do not break or bend. I cannot be silenced.

- Claire Legrand, Kingsbane, p. 53


Audric still has to die and Rielle still has to give birth to Eliana and at last die. Because, frankly, I don’t think the story would make much sense if Eliana is with her mom and dad and lives happily ever after. In fact, I believe Rielle’s story will unfurl the way it should, and Eliana won’t travel past in time, instead fix the problem in the present.


The third instalment of the series will hopefully answer all our questions concerning Simon’s betrayal and what the heck this fussing about the prophet is. Who is that dude anyway? Further, without doubt will Eliana face the Emperor – maybe Corien will even travel from the past to the future present given the fact that the thought occurs him after Eliana popped up in Old Celdaria out of nowhere, and that he has a marque at his side (one he blackmails but still).


Last but not least, I think we’ll get some Corielle fluff. Yeah, yeah, spare yourself the effort to chide me, I know it’s not fluff and Corien is bad and shit, nevertheless, fluff it is.


The only person living who could look at her and see a girl, and not a monster.

- Claire Legrand, Kingsbane, p. 573



My Playlist

As always I’ve put together a decent list of fitting songs. I’ve saved them on my Spotify profile so if you like to peer into it just click here and listen to my Empirium Trilogy Playlist on Spotify. Make sure to hit the follow/ save button (and if you don’t, I won’t be hurt because, frankly, I don’t care).


Kingsbane Playlist

  • Dua Lipa – Swan Song

  • TRACES - Awake

  • Fleurie – Soldier

  • KÁRYYN – BINARY

  • Hozier – Almost (Sweet Music)

  • TRACES – Clouds

  • Lewis Capaldi – Fade

  • Ellie Goulding – Hollow Crown

  • ARK – Let It Breathe

  • Unions – Afraid of the Dark

  • UNSECRET, Ruelle – Revolution

  • Thirty Seconds To Mars – Love is Madness

  • Astrid S – The First One

  • Hozier – Work Song

I cannot help repeating how genius I am when it comes down to making playlists. So, you may enjoy the glorious time listening to my playlist while reading – trust me, it’s worth it.


But then Corien was opening his arms to her, his face awash with pity, and she crashed into his embrace. She pressed her face to his chest, breathed hard and short against him.

- Claire Legrand, Kingsbane, p. 574



Final Words

What’s more to say?


Why did you do this?”

- Claire Legrand, Kingsbane, p. 577


And with that question echoing in our minds (and not having a decent answer because that bastard just wouldn’t open his mouth and sPeAk) we’re left off to at least one long year of anticipating and agonizing waiting till the release of the final instalment of the Empirium Trilogy.


Claire Legrand did a wonderful job with Kingsbane and I cannot wait for the third book of the series (and please, make me cry because then I’d ultimately fall head over heels for the series (which I already have but nevermind – I wanna cry, ‘kay?)).


Hit me up if you need someone to chat about the book. In any other case – hope you’re doing better than me. And if you’re looking for more entertainment: follow me on tumblr and visit @rhysknessm my disaster of a blog. Bye-bye.


Read my 5-star review of Kingsbane by Claire Legrand on Goodreads and follow me there to check out the books I've read and which are on my to-do list.


I want you to kiss me until I forget how angry I am with you.”

- Claire Legrand, Kingsbane, p. 209

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page