top of page

The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi - Book Review

The Gilded Wolves is the first novel of a brand-new YA fantasy series by Roshani Chokshi, set in Paris at the end of the 19th Century, and is bristling with dark secrets, intriguing magic and glittering splendour. And in the middle of it all, a group of non-ordinary, disparate heroes and heroines with deep-reaching desires.


The world has a shit memory. It will never pay its debts unless you force its hand.

- Roshani Chokshi, The Gilded Wolves, p. 227




Title: The Gilded Wolves

Series: The Gilded Wolves (#1)

Genre: YA Fantasy

Author: Roshani Chokshi

Publish Date: 15th January 2019

Pages: 388

Personal Rating: 7/10


“It’s the price one pays for chasing wants,” he said lightly. “The problem is, I have too many of them.”

- Roshani Chokshi, The Gilded Wolves, p. 55


Imagine an exhibition where the exhibited artifacts are presented on a powered wheel behind thick bullet-proof glass. That’s exactly that sort of place you’d find The Gilded Wolves presented because – let’s state the real facts here – the book cover is freaking stunning and promising. It promises a lavish, magical and glittering world set in Paris during the Industrial Revolution.


And yet again I want to travel to the respective city! Paris, I’m coming (right after I’ve visited five other places I’m supposed to go to after reading a novel set there).


“You’re doing it again,” said Enrique. “What?” “That whole nefarious-whilst-looking-into-the-distance thing. What are you hiding, Séverin?”

- Roshani Chokshi, The Gilded Wolves, p. 13


And this was another delicious read about a group of friends, consisting of completely different people: A greedy leader with a rather asshole attitude, an intriguing Indian performer with a big secret, an autistic who has a way with chemicals and minerals, a historian who cares about artifacts and his hair, and a boy who will slap you with a flower if you call Goliath a spider and not a tarantula.

Oh, and there is also a very handsome patriarch who has a fortune pinned to his lapels and is desperately looking for friends.



Summary

No one believes in them. But soon no one will forget them.

It's 1889. The city is on the cusp of industry and power, and the Exposition Universelle has breathed new life into the streets and dredged up ancient secrets. Here, no one keeps tabs on dark truths better than treasure-hunter and wealthy hotelier Séverin Montagnet-Alarie. When the elite, ever-powerful Order of Babel coerces him to help them on a mission, Séverin is offered a treasure that he never imagined: his true inheritance.

To hunt down the ancient artifact the Order seeks, Séverin calls upon a band of unlikely experts: An engineer with a debt to pay. A historian banished from his home. A dancer with a sinister past. And a brother in arms if not blood.

Together, they will join Séverin as he explores the dark, glittering heart of Paris. What they find might change the course of history--but only if they can stay alive.



3 Reasons Why

Reading the synopsis suffices to come to the realization that The Gilded Wolves has a similar structure to Leigh Bardugo’s Six of Crows Duology. Despite the many parallels, The Gilded Wolves is definitely worth reading and has some pros that speak loud and clearly for its uniqueness.

  1. Paris during the Industrial Revolution

  2. Intriguing romance laced with the plot

  3. A damnably unsettling, promising and alluring ending


“I have learnt not to trust what you say,” said Laila. “So I took my own precaution.” “How-“ “I learned from the best,” she said, patting his cheek.

- Roshani Chokshi, The Gilded Wolves, p. 382



Content

From page one we’re recklessly thrown into the happenings of the story with no background, no slow opening nor introduction, except the one-page-long explanation before the prologue which is supposed to acquaint the readers with the magic of the book: Forging.


To forge is not only to enhance creation, but to reshape it.

- Roshani Chokshi, The Gilded Wolves, p. 6


In my own words Forging is that crazy ability to realise every crazy ass idea that has ever crept up on your mind, and from what I’ve gathered throughout the book (which, frankly, isn’t that much), there are people who can Forge, there are rings that can enable crazy shit happening - equal Forging - and someone can Forge objects which have Forging powers. Yes, and if you’re still with me and haven’t wrinkled your nose and scowled yet then I’m here to congratulate you.


Although I welcomed the gripping and slightly eerie opening of The Gilded Wolves I really wished for a smoother introduction of Forging power because until this very moment I still don’t know the capacity of that magic, and I really would like to.


And hence that is, from my point of view, the peculiar issue with the book: Despite the great atmosphere and the sumptuous descriptions, the extent of Forging and the detailed fictional world-building are plainly overwhelming and an overload. One’s imagination is put to a really tough test. That said from a girl who has a thriving imagination.


For starters I had to slow down my reading pace, re-read certain passages and be very, very open and perceptive (in a way I could actually imagine what I read) because I wouldn't have quite grasp it otherwise.


“Though, how they went about doing so led to some nasty murders, or so I’m told. Who knows. Who cares. The Fallen House fell. This bone clock is a reminder of that.” “You have such a cheerful taste, Séverin.” “I try.”

- Roshani Chokshi, The Gilded Wolves, p. 143


Another thing I didn’t grasp were the riddles. One of the remarkable things in The Gilded Wolves were the riddles or the illustration of them, respectively. While I was reading the passages, not really understanding a word from the historical and mathematical lessons (I’ve graduated grammar school, hence I’m not daft – just so you know) with which the characters apparently are able to solve them, I just nodded at nobody in particular but at plain air. As in, ‘what the heck am I supposed to do with that kind of knowledge?’ or ‘should I now be able to solve them myself, or what?’. Because, plainly, I was just baffled, and, consequently, too stupid for this book.


“Zofia tell him he’s pretty.” Zofia didn’t look up from her tea. “I am personally undecided, but if we’re assessing based on objectivity, then according to the principles of the golden ratio, also known as phi, which is approximately 1.618, your facial beauty is mathematically pleasing.” “I’m swooning,” grumbled Enrique.

- Roshani Chokshi, The Gilded Wolves, p. 87


I enjoyed The Gilded Wolves despite the smartass-knowledge of the Fibonacci sequence, the golden ratio and history lessons about things I didn’t even know where a thing. Although there were moments my head threatened to fume from the overload of descriptions, Roshani Chokshis launched a satisfying first novel of her new fantasy series. With the lavish world-building that made you smell the air of Paris’ street, the crackling plot which gripped and took you to glittering and vibrant places, and the great character chemistry, she succeeded in turning us into beggars pleading for the sequel.


And I am definitely in the front row when it comes to shipping the otp Séverin and Laila. I don’t know about you but the background they share is different from what I’ve read so far and I definitely was sweating when these two were alone in a room. Lord, that chemistry and tension! It was unbearably good and refreshing!


There were so many wants inside him that he doubted there was room for blood in his body.

- Roshani Chokshi, The Gilded Wolves, p. 11



Honest Words

On the whole The Gilded Wolves is a novel I’d recommend to all the YA fantasy stans out there because the book has it all: action, cackling dialogues, dark secrets and magic, and of course some steamy romance cannot be missing.


And yet I have to admit that at the beginning I noticed parallels to the Six of Crows Duology, but the farther I got in the story and the deeper I dove into the world of The Gilded Wolves I lost that impression. Séverin Montagnet-Alarie is not like Kaz Brekker, Laila is not Inej Ghafa and so on. So to whoever thought there are too many similarities – just read The Gilded Wolves and you’ll know for certain that it’s, indeed, not the case.


“When you are who they expect you to be, they never look too closely.”

- Roshani Chokshi, The Gilded Wolves, p. 148


While those lovely and witty characters had their arguments and were plotting the shit out of everything, it felt more to me like a history or math lesson you were participating and supposed to understand things but, in fact, didn’t catch a thing. It was either putting the book aside and googling, or accepting the facts and moving on with one’s life. Like, ‘Ok, I guess it makes sense? I guess’.


Moreover I had the feeling that there were few parts that didn’t add up seamlessly and would have required some more explaining or a more accurate golden thread.


The Ending (spoiler alert)

Many would say that they hadn’t seen that ending coming, but, plainly spoken, I smelt the rat. Why else doesn’t Tristan get a POV in The Gilded Wolves? Moreover something is off with him throughout the book and because he always keeps on trying to alert and talk sense into Séverin, there was no way past the victim role.


Moreover Séverin definitely needed new motivation and motives to go hard on people in the sequel. – Now he does.


“It’ll be ‘like dreaming,’ you said. As ‘easy as sleeping’!” “Nightmares are part of sleeping.”

- Roshani Chokshi, The Gilded Wolves, p. 29


For the sequel we can definitely expect a more ruthless behaviour from Séverin, Hypnos-Enrique otp, a jealous or disappointed Zofia, Enrique who’s torn between Hypnos and Zofia, Laila going full-scale at Séverin (at this point I’m sure she’d even threaten him with a knife to make him confess that he has feelings for her, and ,holy shmoly, that chemistry and tension between them is so perceptive and, Roshani Chokshi, how the fudge did you master this so well?) and, finally, the name of the Fallen House. At least I hope so.


He raised his eyebrow. “One that has to do with my bed?” “As if you’d know what to do with me in your bed,” she said, glancing at her nails. He most certainly did know –

- Roshani Chokshi, The Gilded Wolves, p. 380



Quotes

There isn’t much to say except that I have so many passages I loved and that I can’t wait for the sequel. On second thoughts, I need it right now.


“Reveal you weapons,” he said. “My apologies,” said Séverin mildly. He withdrew a small knife from his pocket. “I always keep one on hand for cutting apples.”

- Roshani Chokshi, The Gilded Wolves, p. 68


Lust is safer than love, but both can ruin you.

- Roshani Chokshi, The Gilded Wolves, p. 373


She knew all the carefully cobbled pieces of him. He was deception steeped in elegance, from his sharp smile to his unsettling eyes.

- Roshani Chokshi, The Gilded Wolves, p. 123


“Half of winning, my dear wallet, is simply looking victorious.”

- Roshani Chokshi, The Gilded Wolves, p. 168


All she could see were his long legs stretched in front of him, his chin on his palm like a bored emperor.

- Roshani Chokshi, The Gilded Wolves, p. 199


“We’re all friends. We’re friends going to save a friend! This is… this is amazing.”

- Roshani Chokshi, The Gilded Wolves, p. 249


Séverin snapped his fingers and drapes swooshed down to cover the bay window. He snapped again, and a large black screen crept over the domed glass of the stargazing room. Hypnos snorted. “And you call me dramatic.”

- Roshani Chokshi, The Gilded Wolves, p. 254


What did you do?” he demanded. “I did what I wanted. It’s my clock.” “But you promised!” wailed Enrique. “True, but my fingers were crossed.”

- Roshani Chokshi, The Gilded Wolves, p. 275


Such good books make me want to write my own novel.



My Playlist

Not to brag or anything, but my Spotify playlists for books have become rather brilliant and satisfyingly adequate over time – and, in fact, I am bragging about it because I need some approval from strangers, ok? Click here to check out my playlist of songs for The Gilded Wolves on Spotify.


  • Leon Bridges – Smooth Sailin’

  • Serena Ryder – Stompa

  • Nick Murphy / Chet Faker – Medication

  • Lauv – Paris in the Rain

  • Sam Smith, Normani – Dancing With A Stranger

  • Jazzistic, Karen Souza – Personal Jesus

  • Grant Zubritsky - #activism

  • Whissell – Pain of Love

  • Ruelle – Gotta Love It

  • Bastille – Send Them Off!

  • Seafret – Monsters

  • Layla – Weightless

  • Valerie Broussard – A Little Wicked

  • Billie Eilish – bad guy

  • Anderson East – All On My Mind

  • Hooverphonic – Mad About You

  • Sam Tinnesz, Yacht Money – Play with Fire

  • Valerie Broussard – Trouble

  • Jade Bird – Uh Huh

  • Matt Maeson – Put It On Me

  • Bryce Fox – Stomp Me Out

  • Barns Courtney – Hellfire

  • Silverberg, Jung Youth – Last One Standing

  • Tyler James Bellinger – Feel Like Home

  • morgxn – notorious

  • K.Flay – Bad Vibes

  • The New Respects – Trouble

Switch to my Spotify account to find more book songs playlists I made.



Final Words

I cannot wait for the sequel, The Silvered Serpents. The second book of The Gilded Wolves series is published on the 4th February 2020 (so long, partner) and then we finally get to know how the story continues. Until then… agonizing and long waiting till the release date.


“Are you dying?” “No more than usual or expected.”

- Roshani Chokshi, The Gilded Wolves, p. 40


Subscribe to my newsletter to stay updated to new reviews or posts on my blog. Send me request, questions or comments (if you want to discuss with me certain books, I’m always down), and follow me on my social medias, which aren’t that many and also not that interesting for that matter.


Read my 4-star review of The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi on Goodreads and follow me there to check out the books I've read and are on my to-do list.


There was relief in this second, in holding and being held, but then he let go. He always let go first.

- Roshani Chokshi, The Gilded Wolves, p. 247

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page