top of page

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas - Review

Updated: Feb 3, 2019

Sarah J. Maas' A Court of Thorns and Roses - Series goes into the second round and it is hell of a ride. Action-packed, tears-triggering and desire-awakening for certain black-haired dudes.

To all the stars who listen and the dreams that are answered.

Title: A Court of Mist and Fury

Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses (#2)

Genre: YA/ NA Fantasy

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publish Date: 3rd May 2018

Pages: 626

Personal Rating: 9/10


Wow. Simply flabbergasted. Although the first book of the ACOTAR-series didn't blow me away at all, the second one surely did. Whatever your opinion on the first installment was, this one will make up for it, trust me on that.


When I started reading this book I had no expectations because my last ones were crushed by the first one of the series. And folks, I got rewarded for that. A Court of Mist and Fury is the shit!


Feyre survived Amarantha's clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can't forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin's people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.


Alright. Here. Are. My. Three. Reasons. Why you should read this book - like really read this because it's life-ruiningly good!

  1. Rhysand (Nothing else to say.)

  2. The finest intertwining and many Ohs and OMG moments.

  3. Epic.

The urgently needed sequel to A Court of Thorns and Roses, which left us rather indifferent and insecure at first. At the end of book one I wasn't quite sure what was going to happen next, what the heck was that all about Rhysand and who is that intriguing guy, is Tamlin-Bitch really the him and so on. I had a list of questions that the first book just couldn't answer so I was rather hesitating when I started the second one.


With A Court of Mist and Fury you've got it all covered. My and surely also your questions will be answered, everything suddenly makes sense and you start to see the bigger picture. Not only is the second installment pleasing to all the readers - the many pages didn't really bother me to be quite honest because you always want more and end up unsaturated after 626 pages - it's also full of action, the boring table talks now belong to history, the world building and the depth of the characters has improved so much that I really came to love this book with my heart.


Funny, witty, thrilling, catchy, poignant and beautiful. Sarah J. Maas did such a good job and definitely made up for the quite disappointing start of the ACOTAR-series. Whatever she wrote I could feel with the characters and could fully dive into the story that I had a hard time finding an hour of sleep.


When you're dead tired but you can't help but have to read no matter how hard your eyes are burning from the fatigue or you know exactly how shitty you're going to feel the next morning - you just can't stop - then the book is definitely awesome. I reckon you wouldn't turn back on the lights and fish for the book from the edge of your bed at three a.m. in the morning to continue reading because you realized you can't sleep otherwise, when the book is nothing more but garbage. Right?


ACOMAF is definitely worth everyone's time who likes YA or NA fantasy, fairies, a good romance and badass action.


From here on - bye unspoilt wannabes. It's spoiler time.


 

A Court of Mist and Fury aka A Court of Rhysand and OMGs


What a book.

"I'm not drunk - I'm drinking."

Major topics I'm going to discuss below the divider.

  1. T-guy

  2. Rhysand

  3. Feysand

  4. The ending

So the first thing which happens to get grilled here, is pretty obviously T-guy or better known as Tamlin-Bitch. No offence to all the Tamlin supporters out there though I doubt there are that many around. Whatever Sarah J. Maas' initial plans were for the love interest of the book's heroine, Tamlin certainly isn't part of it anymore and so far out of the picture I didn't deem him worthy of one freaking thought not even when I was on the loo. The author did make sure we forget completely about the golden locks dude and enhanced his mothering and conservative behaviour which really made me sick.


The "we'll talk about it later", "I don't want to lose you ", "I don't want you to get hurt" or "It's for your own good" are sentences not even one fucking person, especially women, want to hear - like ever. They're disgustingly overprotective, shouldn't be addressed to any adult being because they transmit the message "You're so weak, depend on me, can't deal with literally anything and are my property hence all I want is to pack you inside my dick and have you safe."


Hold on right there. Excuse me but I'll need to visit the toilet and puke my guts out.


That is exactly how Tamlin treats Feyre in the first 125 pages. He does everything to keep her allegedly safe but all that Tamlin-Bitch does is caging, smothering, killing her and making all the decisions. So, my apologies, if I don't give a fuck if the T-guy bites the dust.


Breathing became difficult. He'd trapped me in here; he'd locked me up.

And don't even get me started on vomiting all over the floor at the mention of the wedding. Geez, that was the most disgusting and bitter thing to read because Feyre clearly didn't want to.


"Come, Bride, and be joined with your true love. Come, Bride, and let good triumph at last." I tried to get my traitorous lungs to draw air so I could voice the word. No - no.

*vomiting in the corner*


And if in any case some readers were still clinging to the last scrap of sympathy for Tamlin, Sarah J. Maas played the traitor card and *bam* all the "Oh Tamlin, get yourself together and wake up" became "Oh you better fuck yourself, dude". Problem solved. And with that, all clear for the actual YA heartthrob.


Not safe. Not protected. - Free.

Presenting Rhysand, High Lord of the Night Court. Sable hair, darkness rippling in his wake, powerful, witty, precious, cheeky, cocky, handsome, purple eyes - I guess you get what I'm trying to convoy. Hidden message has arrived, Sarah J. Maas, he's the All-I-want-for-Christmas-is-him hot dude of the series. Point taken.


He's such a precious munchkin in the second installment my heart ached for him. Sarah J Maas didn't really give us what we needed in book one of ACOTAR to make up our minds concerning Rhysand. The more we crushed for him in the second one. Folks, a guy right out of the book of fairytales. Seriously, I had such a hard book character crush, I couldn't cope with it for a whole week.


What's the Rhysand from book two like? Let me tell you one thing, he's so precious and pure and genuine I cried when he did. Yes, guess what, guys can cry, too. Maybe the progressive mindset of Rhysand was a wee bit sought after by the author but whatever it was good to read for once about a dude who's all about everyone lives their own goddamn life how they want to without conservative pricks putting their oar in.


Rhysand is literally everything. While I was reading this book I couldn't stop loving him and he gives you all the OMG and yasssss and the fan-girl vibes. In every possible way. He's proud, good-hearted, devoted, commits completely to what he believes in, cocky but so lovingly and a oh-so beautiful mess. *cough* and OMG he has mountains and stars tattoed on his knees and I'm screaming because that's so incredibly hot and sexy and ahhhhhh, fan-girling over here ahhhhh I'd totally love to kiss and lick them and ahhhh *cough*


Knelt on those stars and mountains inked on his knees. He would bow for no one and nothing. - But his mate. His equal.

His equal, his mate (sounds a little bit animalistic to me and like they're damned to be together and fuck and mate but alright). It's everything. The one thing in this book I probably won't ever get over: Feysand. It's life, it's romance, it's love, it's everything. Quite literally.


I stared at Rhys. He stared at me. His cheeks were tinged pink with cold, his dark hair ruffled, and he honestly looked freezing as he stood there.

And right after that start of chapter 54 that's what happened:


*at least three screaming fits* OMG it's Rhys! OMG. Rhysand!

*regular jaw-dropping" OMG. No freaking way! You gotta be kidding me! He dreamed of Feyre painting flowers years before he met her the first time?! No way! OMG. AHHHHHH. Fan-girling here, fan-girling there. *marveling* Beautiful. More fan-girling. Losing my common sense and reaching for tissues because crying the amount of tears of ten people for three years is a hard job to master.

*running to the bookshelf and tearing out ACOTAR* Where is it?! Where is it! There! NO way! Why didn't I notice it! WTF. OMG! More fan-gilring and more crying. OMG RHEEEEE-SAND, I fucking adore you!


At this point I stop this non-sense and spare you any further details about my outburst, crying and fan-girling. That revelation and cobweb of background information just overwhelmed and shattered me in a good way.


And I wondered if love was too weak a word for what he felt, what he'd done for me. For what I felt for him.

I think we can all agree, chapter 54, folks, chapter fucking 54! It gives you all the vibes. You know what I mean if you've read it. Chapter 54!


Life is better when you're around. And look at how lovely your handwriting is. - A faint smile curved my lips. You're a shameless flirt.

Oh, Rhys.


So, yes, there is only Feysand! Rhysand is the him! No room for discussions! RHYSAND! Flick the T-guy from the surface.


And when they'd finally found each other that ending comes around. Am I the only one who thinks that the scene at the Couldron was a tiny bit ridiculous considering who was present in that hall? I reckon there was a group of five mighty creatures and whatever trap the King of Hybern had laid out for them - they walked straight into it and didn't succeed in what they'd been planning. Let me ask the question now: What the fuck happened there?


The allegedly most powerful High Lord in history aka Rhysand, the one who holds the powers of all the High Lords of Prythian - Feyre darling - the Shadows of the Shadows, Azriel, the Morrigan (as they love to emphasize her name in the book and we don't know why) and a Illyrian baby who is running on testosterone better known as Cassian. All of them assembled in one room and no-freaking-body can do anything? Hate to ask but what happened to their all-mighty and great powers... in a situation... it... well... might have been convenient to have them? No freaking clue. But at least that traitorous dude Lucien, for whom I really had sympathy, and Tamlin-Bitch just walk right in because they teamed up with the enemy. I beg your pardon, what did you just say?


Playlist

What would reading be without a masterpiece of a playlist? - Still a good read but less epic.

  • Elley Duhé - STARZ

  • Halsey - Colors

  • Halsey - Colors pt. II

  • Halsey - Young God

  • Halsey - Hold Me Down

  • ayokay - Swing Swing

  • Sam Bluer - Body High

  • Maths Time Joy - Going Nowhere (with Flores)

  • Lewis Capaldi - Rush (feat. Jessie Reyez)

  • Ulrik Munther - Before


What is your opinion on A Court of Mist and Fury? Did you also cherish Rhysand so much or is it just my depraved brain?


It belonged to me - as I belonged only to me, as my future was mine to decide, to forge.

Read my 5-star review of A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas on Goodreads and follow me there to check out the books I've read and are on my to-do list.

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page