top of page

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black - Review

Updated: Jan 15, 2019

The highly praised new YA series of the #1 New York Times bestselling Author Holly Black. A dark, lush and thrilling book in another kind of fey world with a title that encourages you to press the buy-button without reading the synopsis.

I want to win. I do not yearn to be their equal. In my heart, I yearn to best them.

Title: The Cruel Prince

Series: The Folk of the Air (#1)

Genre: YA Fantasy

Author: Holly Black

Publish Date: 2nd January 2018

Pages: 370

Personal Rating: 7/10


Damn, that was hell of a delicious story. No need to say that I devoured it. I sucked at every sentence like you would on a popsicle and I savoured each of Cardan’s words like the most delicious food my taste receptors had ever got their – figuratively – hands on. Geez, can I please eat Elfhame and their youngest prince? No doubt, I’d read this book over and over again and would hope for a magical extra page to appear out of the blue so my eyes could satisfy their hunger for more words from Madam Black’s hand.


Lush, magical, thrilling, enchanting, dark, hot, witty and, man, I am a mess and deeplyinlovewith Cardan.

The purchase process of this book was quite impressive to say the least. I was skim-reading a reading list of 2018 releases on Goodreads and then, out of nowhere, a title pops up and before I knew what had happened, I had purchased a book called The Cruel Prince on Amazon. All that is required is one hell of a title and the book is bought! And that was definitely the case with Holly Blacks first book of her new YA fantasy series The Folk of the Air.


Of course I want to be like them. They’re beautiful as blades forged in some divine fire. They will live forever. And Cardan is even more beautiful than the rest. I hate him more than all the others. I hate him so much that sometimes when I look at him, I can hardly breathe. Jude was seven when her parents were murdered and she and her two sisters were stolen away to live in the treacherous High Court of Faerie. Ten years later, Jude wants nothing more than to belong there, despite her mortality. But many of the fey despise humans. Especially Prince Cardan, the youngest and wickedest son of the High King. To win a place at the Court, she must defy him–and face the consequences. As Jude becomes more deeply embroiled in palace intrigues and deceptions, she discovers her own capacity for trickery and bloodshed. But as betrayal threatens to drown the Courts of Faerie in violence, Jude will need to risk her life in a dangerous alliance to save her sisters, and Faerie itself.


I don’t know where to start. Originally, my relationship to The Cruel Prince didn’t start that well aside from the speedy purchase. My picky and at that point devastated diva couldn’t bare reading properly a book after just finishing War Storm by Victoria Aveyard. I couldn’t help comparing Cardan to Maven and I needed a reading break the instance. So, I gave the book a second chance weeks later and, oh goddammit, hell, I am intrigued.


And I’m sure you’ll be, too, if you haven’t read it yet and you’re looking for reasons to read it – because… there you go. Three simple reasons why you urgently need to read it.

  1. Cardan

  2. Mesmerizing and sweet brutality

  3. Marvelous, fairy setting


"He's flint, you're tinder. “

Set in a parallel realm to the human world is Elfhame, a magical and floral fae kingdom, and there shit goes down. Holly Black managed to enthrall me with her story hence nothing and no one could tear me from the book (during my second attempt to read the book…). It’s magical, humorous, witty, dark, dangerously beautiful and really, and when I say really then I really mean, really seductive.


Not only is the world building original and marvelous, also the portrayal of the fae is rather different from those that are described in other books. They’re brutal, cunning and basically everyone is bad. There was like seriously no single character that was genuinely good-hearted or approximately decent. However, that is one of the refreshing parts of The Cruel Prince. Darkness intertwined with witty remarks, deep and twisted endeavours, great world building that really gives ya the feels and all the moods tangled with one hell of a hot, twisted dude, are what really makes this book a total masterpiece.


I prophesize the second book is only going to be better and crush all our hearts.


"You may win in the end, you may ensorcell me and hurt me and humiliate me, but I will makes sure you lose everything I can take from you on the way down. I promise you this” – I throw his own words back at him – “this is the least of what I can do.”

Hohohoh, yessss.


There is no much else to say than, YOU HAVE TO READ IT.


Listen to Hayley Kiyoko Mercy/ Gatekeeper while reading. It is a fucking mood, folks.


Unless you have read and devoured the book, keep reading on your own account, unspoilt wannabes.


 

The Cruel Prince aka The Hot Cardan


“I’m nervous,” he says. “I smile a lot when I’m nervous. I can’t help it.”

There are many things I can’t help cherishing in this book and that’s definitely a certain hot asshole who has got a serious drinking issue and an attitude. Folks, I really don’t know how I’ve endured my life without having Cardan Greenbriar in it. Seriously, that precious, drunk asshole is all a creature craves.

Topics

  1. Court of Shadows

  2. Locke

  3. Best lines


Don’t get me wrong, the book was great and stuff but there is always something that puts me off. This time it was the Court of Shadows aka Dain’s incompetent spies. Correct me if I’m wrong, but aren’t spies intended for revealing secrets, ensuring their master’s safety and showing a tiny little bit of commitment to the cause? Unless I’m wrong that’s exactly what Dain’s Court of Shadows didn’t do. First of all, Dain takes on Jude as if she’s the only capable creature (a young mortal, folks) among mighty faes and what else there is running through the woods in Elfhame. Yeah, yeah, she can lie. Get creative.


Even thinking of it for too long – I am a spy! I am Prince Dain’s spy! – gives me a thrill.

(Congrats, Dain, you just employed a fangirl who won’t be able to save you from biting the dust.)


Then, his Court of Shadows turns out to be a hobby club consisting of three, four respectively, members that can’t smell a rat though it’s THE coronation. What the heck?! And just like that Dain goes west without a fight. Wow, what amazing spies he has. Truly fascinating. However, I guess it’s his mistake because who takes in a fangirl and three morons who only shrug and think about themselves as soon as their Prince passed on? No one with a brain is the answer.


“We don’t work for Dain anymore,” the Roach reminds the Ghost, the nostrils of his long green knife of a nose flaring. “Dain’s dead and beyond caring about thrones or crowns. We sell the prince back to Balekin for everything we can get and leave.”

Upshot, Court of Shadows is fucking petty and ludicrous. But at least it had some content. One thing that absolutely contributed nothing to the plot and made me rather frown than nod in approval was a certain fox.


Locke. Raise your hand if you smelt that rat from the other shore of the ocean away. John Locke’s fae adaption slid into Jude dms like crazy fast and flit away even faster. Out of the blue he’s like “oh, I like you, btw” then it’s all hugs and kisses – for like one week – and after that that Locke dude things he’s become an essential part of Jude’s life and “breaks” her heart and I am like “dude, what’s there to break?”. There was no other option than that he had ulterior motives although I might not grasp which. And even lesser do I comprehend why Jude’s sister didn’t say anything since she’s apparently Locke’s fiancée and he officially strayed for everyone to see. I simply don’t get it. Can please someone enlighten me?


“Do you love me enough to give me up?” I am sure my expression is stricken.

And I am sure my expression is incredulous and disapproving. Like what the heck? They’re in love? Did I skip a chapter in this book or why do I have the feeling I missed something?


But at least I know what to say. “If you hurt me, I wouldn’t cry. I would hurt you back.”
His step falters as we sweep over the floor. “I’m sure you’d-“

No, just no. What the fuck, Locke? In whose reality should Jude cry over you? Seriously, what messed up twist is that? Locke pretends to like Jude though he’s with her twin sister whose looking is identical to hers and then he wants to “break” her heart and expects her to cry over him? Bruh, what?


The best lines and quotes of The Cruel Prince (and there are many, trust me).


His mouth curls. “What happiness do you have? Rutting and breeding. You’d go mad if you accepted the truth of what you are. You are nothing. You barely exist at all. Your only purpose is to create more of your kind before you die some pointless and agonizing death.”
I look him in the eye. “And?”

That’s Jude Duarte for you, folks. Bold as usual.


He sighs. “Just ask me something. Ask about my tail. Don’t you want to see it?” He raises his brows.

Drunk, precious Cardan believing the only reason humans are alive is because they want to see his tail.


“Yes, fine,” he says, annoyed, trying to push my blade away.
I hold it steady, so that the knife cuts into his skin. He swears and puts a bleeding finger in his mouth. “What was that for?”
“For fun,” I say.

I honestly can’t express what Jardan makes me feel like. She’s the bold and bossy badass and he’s the drunk and arrogant diva. It’s gold, folks. Simply precious.


He leans in and closes his eyes. “Most of all, I hate you because I think of you. Often. It’s disgusting and I can’t stop.”
I am shocked into silence.
“Maybe you should shoot me after all, “ he says, covering his face with one long-fingered hand.

Hell, yeah.


“After our kiss, I am such a fool over you that I can hardly contain myself,” I tell him with as much sarcasm as I can muster. “All I want to do is nice things that make you happy. Sure, I’ll make whatever bargain you want, so long as you kiss me again. Go ahead and run. I definitely won’t shoot you in the back.”
He blinks a few times. “Hearing you lie outright is a bit disconcerting.”

This is just legendary and the best shit I’ve ever read.


“Have I told you how hideous you look tonight?” Cardan asks.
“No,” I sa, glad to be annoyed back into the present. “Tell me.”
“I cannot,” he says, then frowns. “Jude?” I may never be used to the sound of my name on his lips.

Ohhhh, I’m having a hard time reading this without making a face that says so much as OMG why are they so cuuuute.


His black hair falls in opulent curls around his cheeks. The shadows bring out the sharpness of his bones, the length of his lashes, the merciless beauty of his face.
I am horrified by how much he looks like the King of Faerie.

No comment. Simply hot.


“I don’t suppose you have anything to drink around here? Cardan asks. “I don’t imagine that whatever happens next is going to be particularly comfortable for me, and I would like to stay drunk in order to face it.”

To be continued.


“This is what you wanted, isn’t it?” he asks. “What you sacrificed everything for. Go on. It’s all yours.”

The sequel and second installment of The Folk of the Air series will be out on 8th January 2019. Can’t wait. The Wicked King I am coming!


Read my 4-star review of The Cruel Prince by Holly Black on Goodreads and follow me there to check out the books I've read and are on my to-do list.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page